About Ethiopia

Ethiopia is Known by official name Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia (FDRE) and the political system of the Country is federal multi-party system. There are nine regional states and two city administrations, including Addis Ababa the capital city of the country.
Ethiopia is located at the north-eastern part of Africa extending 30 to 150 north of the equator and 330 to 480 east of the Greenwich Meridian. Ethiopia has a unique location at crossroads between Africa, the Middle East and Asia. There are two major seasons encompassing dry and wet seasons. The dry season prevails from October through May and the wet season runs from June to September. Ethiopia enjoys temperate climate because of its elevation. The total area of the country is 1.14 million km2 with more than 90 million total population. Major religions in the country are Christianity and Islam.
Ethiopia is a multi-ethnic state with a great variety of languages spoken. Amharic is the working language of Federal government. The currency of Ethiopia is based on the decimal system. The units of currency are birr and cents.